Project Team

PBW Editorial Team

For the full list of those who worked on the project up to 2011, see below.
From 2011 to 2016 Michael Jeffreys continued as editor, and the overall academic management is his work. Further materials were provided by him, and, from the Chronicle of Ibn al-Athir, by Wahid Amin.
The redesign of the site for this edition was undertaken by Elliott Hall and Charlotte Roueché. The links to external data were created by Charlotte Roueché; the interface design is by Ginestra Ferraro.

Management Committee

The project has always been directed by a Management Committee(see PBW 2011 for earlier years); this was chaired from 2011 until 2015 by Averil Cameron, and from 2015 by Charlotte Roueché. The membership has been made up of interested individuals. From 2017, however, it is intended that the Committee should be convened by the School of Advanced Study (University of London) and the Society for the Promotion of Byzantine Studies, with a membership of representatives of interested parties.

2011 Project Team

Editorial Team

  • Michael Jeffreys, Manager (2000-2011)
  • Olga Karagiorgou (2002-2004)
  • Tassos Papacostas (2001-2006)
  • Judith Ryder (2007-2010, Leventis prosopography research fellow)
  • Mary Whitby (2000-2005)

Leverhulme Research Fellows (Arabic sources)

  • Letizia Osti (2005-2007)
  • Bruna Soravia (2007-2009)
Leventis Byzantine Prosopography Research Scholars

  • Tara Andrews (Armenian sources)
  • Eleni Karafotia (Greek sources)
  • Harry Munt (Arabic sources)
Technical Research and Development
  • John Bradley (2000-2005, 2006-2011)
  • Gerhard Brey (2005-2006)
  • Beatriz Caballero (2011)
  • Elliott Hall (2004-2011)
  • Eleonora Litta Modignani Picozzi (2006)
  • Harold Short (2000-2010)
  • Paul Vetch (2006, 2011)

Thanks for their advice and help also to:

  • Stephanie Apserou
  • Gerhard Brey
  • Jean-Claude Cheynet
  • Arianna Ciula
  • Alexis Demetriou
  • Damien Doherty
  • Simon Franklin
  • Peter Frankopan
  • Tim Greenwood
  • Ivan Iordanov
  • Elizabeth Jeffreys
  • Simon Mahony
  • Eleonora Litta Modignani
  • Razvan Novacovschi
  • Artemis Papakostouli
  • Elena Pierazzo
  • Roderick Saxey
  • Demetrios Skrekas
  • Jonathan Shepard
  • Werner Seibt
  • Paul Spence
  • Alice-Mary Talbot
  • Myrsini Theodorou
  • Ida Toth
  • James Tuck
  • Anna Williams
Management Committee


  • Averil Cameron (2000-2005)
  • Charlotte Roueché (2005-2011)


  • Michael Angold, University of Edinburgh
  • John Bradley, King’s College London (KCL CCH/DDH)
  • Averil Cameron, University of Oxford
  • Ken Emond, British Academy
  • Judith Herrin, King’s College London
  • Michael Jeffreys, PBW
  • Ruth Macrides, University of Birmingham
  • Paul Magdalino, University of St Andrews
  • Rosemary Morris, University of Manchester
  • Letizia Osti, PBW / Arabic Sources
  • Tassos Papacostas, PBW
  • Harold Short, King’s College London (KCL CCH/DDH)
  • Dion Smythe, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Mary Whitby, PBW
  • Helen Skundric (2000-2006)